A Closer Look at India’s Women National Cricket Team


In the dynamic world of cricket, the India women’s national cricket team stands out as a beacon of excellence and empowerment. Affectionately known as the “Women in Blue,” these talented athletes have transcended barriers, shattered stereotypes, and etched their names in the annals of cricketing history. Let’s embark on a journey to explore the prowess, achievements, and upcoming endeavors of this remarkable team.

Team Overview

Led by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the India women’s national cricket team competes at the highest level of women’s cricket under the auspices of the International Cricket Council (ICC). With the coveted status of Women’s Test cricket, Women’s One Day International (WODI), and Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I), the team has cemented its position as a formidable force in the global cricketing arena.

india women's national cricket team

Global Standing

As of the latest rankings, the team holds an impressive fourth position in the ICC Women’s Rankings, showcasing their prowess and consistency on the field. With a total of 7,662 points and a rating of 111, the Women in Blue have earned accolades both domestically and internationally, solidifying their reputation as one of the top teams in the world.

Recent Achievements

In the eventful year of 2023, the India women’s cricket team showcased their mettle in various tournaments and series. Despite facing stiff competition, the team clinched the Asian Women’s T20I Cup, displaying their dominance in the continent. However, their quest for international glory was met with a formidable challenge in the Women’s T20I World Cup, where they faced a heartbreaking defeat in the semifinals against Australia Women.

Amidst the highs and lows, the team etched their name in history with a historic victory over Australia Women in the lone Test match held at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The resounding 8-wicket triumph marked a significant milestone, as it was the first time Australia Women tasted defeat against India Women in the red-ball format.

Upcoming Schedule

Looking ahead, the India women’s cricket team is gearing up for an action-packed calendar in 2024. The team is set to resume the ongoing One-Day International (ODI) series against Australia. Followed by their participation in the February–March 2024 Women’s Premier League (WPL). Later in the year. The squad will embark on a challenging journey to Bangladesh for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024. Aiming to showcase their prowess on the global stage.

In addition. The team is slated for an away tour to Australia for a thrilling three-match ODI series. Followed by a series against the West Indies on home soil. With their schedule subject to further additions. The India women’s cricket team is poise to enthrall fans with their stellar performances in the coming months.

Recognitions and Honors

The accolades bestowed upon individual players further underscore the team’s collective brilliance. Deepti Sharma. An exceptional all-round batsman. Was name in the Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023 by the International Cricket Council (ICC). A testament to her stellar contributions on the field.

india women's national cricket team

Squad Spotlight

The current squad comprises a harmonious blend of seasoned veterans and promising talents. Each contributing their unique strengths to the team’s success. Spearheaded by the legendary Mithali Raj. The team boasts stalwarts such as Harmanpreet Kaur. Smriti Mandhana. And Shafali Verma. Who have left an indelible mark on the sport with their exemplary performances.

Also Read : MS Dhoni’s Trophy Collection: A Testament to Excellence


In essence, the India women’s national cricket team epitomizes resilience, dedication, and the relentless pursuit of excellence. As they continue to break barriers and redefine norms. They inspire generations of aspiring cricketers to dream big and aim high. As fans. Let us rally behind the Women in Blue as they script their next chapter in the rich tapestry of cricketing history.

Leave a Comment